a thought on time…

I have a confession that you probably already know.  I’ve been a terrible blogger.  While I’m dissapointed that I haven’t made it a priority, I’ve chosen other activities, some were, yes, a priority and I am sure some of them weren’t.  I’ve also been working a lot during this busy season.  But I made the choice, and I am here, right here right now, taking the time to just check in…on many levels.

It’s the holiday season.  Per usual, we often ask “where did the time go,” or announce, “time flies.”  There are two quotes that I love, that I try to read every day before I start my day…

photo 2

photo 1

These two quotes completely resonate with me.  Here they are since the picture quality is iffy.

The first:

“Time is an equal opportunity employer. Each human being has exactly the same number of hours and minutes every day.   Rich people can’t buy more hours.  Scientists can’t invent new minutes.  And you can’t save time to spend it on another day.  Even so, time is amazingly fair and forgiving. No matter how much time you’ve wasted in the past, you still have an entire tomorrow.” – Dennis Waitley

“This is the beginning of a new day.  God has given me this day to use as I will.  I can waste it or use it for good.  What I do today is important, because I am exchanging a day of my life for it.  When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever, leaving something I have traded for it.  I want it to be a gain, not loss; good, not evil; success, not failure; in order that I shall not regret the price I paid for it.”

That first quote, those first words.  “Time is an equal opportunity employer,” are incredibly powerful.  Do I have days when I am feeling overwhelmed and wondering “when will I have the time?”  Yes, I am human.  And also a woman.  And everyone knows we love to multi-task.

There’s a lot of rush in every day.  More so now in this holiday season. We celebrated Thanksgiving a few days ago.  Quite frankly, it wasn’t the best day.  Many things weren’t perfect, and a few things went wrong.  Selfishly, I was affixed on those negatives, unable to see or think clearly.  I was fogged up and too upset to see the bigger picture and blessings in that day: that I was with my parents, both of whom are still married and my sister who I wish I saw more often.  We are a healthy family.  And we were together. I was not having a shining star, glass half-full moment.

Alas, I came out of my fog.

Last week, I was helping someone very dear to me, move into a new space.  I personally like moving.  It’s a very cleansing experience and also a trip down memory lane.  Shuffling through old photos he exclaimed, “This picture was 20 years ago.”  I tried to do some math, my worst subject.  I realize we have our age difference but to me, I sat there, and realized that I can remember 20 years ago.  What on earth?  Seriously?  In these 20 years have I exchanged my time well?  Have I relished in each day’s moments, both positive and negative?

Later on that evening, I shared my findings that we were getting old with my friends.  As we walked around the bar and ran into half of the community, my findings were reinforced.  Why were my sisters-aged friends at the bar?  Oh, right. Because they don’t need their siblings IDs anymore.  Yikes.

My mom has always told me to slow down.  “You’re always in a rush!” She says.  Well, mom, I get it.  Because in our youth, especially, we don’t listen to our parents.

I finished a yoga challenge a few weeks ago (re-cap to follow) and mindfulness was apparent.  I lost a little bit of that mindfulness these past few weeks, and allowed others to negatively effect my ability to stay positive and in the present.  I realize it’s a little early for New Year’s Resolutions, so I’m not calling this that.  There are a lot of unknowns in my life right now.  But what I do know is I want to slow down.  Especially this holiday season with my families and friends.  I’m ready to slow down and appreciate the moments in every day.  Maybe it will require me to leave a few minutes early to wherever I am traveling in my car, or to take an extra second to pick up the phone and call someone, or better yet, stop by for a visit.  It’s about the priorities I make.  Because in 20 years, when I look at a photo, I want to remember the moment as it was, what my feelings were, what the weather was, and who the people were, as if I was still there.  I guess on the we’ll just have wait to see how and if this blog unfolds.

Leave a Reply

